NZ Surf National Championships

6 - 13 January 2018

See NZ's best surfers in action and enjoy some of the excellent offshore waves Tairawhiti Gisborne offers!

The New Zealand Championships is the longest running and most prestigious domestic surfing event in New Zealand.

Dating back to 1963, the championships have a storied history, rich with outstanding performances from the best surfers in the country.

The event now reflects the New Zealand surfing community as a whole, offering up over 20 divisions ranging from Under 14's through to Over 60's plus standup paddle-board, long-board and knee-board disciplines.

The seven-day event is generally held during the middle of January marking the start of the competition season.

The Championships were first held at Mount Maunganui but have been held as far north as Kaitaia and as far south as Dunedin and come 2018, Tairawhiti Gisborne hosts this spectacular event.

Often gaining significant nationwide exposure, the event has continually brought its champions into the nation’s spotlight.  Whether that is young up and comers bursting onto the scene or the thirty-year quest to break the five-title tie between Wayne Parkes and Iain Buchanan, a feat achieved by Billy Stairmand in 2017.

For more information, visit

Photo courtesy of Cory from Surfing NZ.